Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Hilton Parish Council

held at the Village Hall, Hilton at 7.00 pm

on Wednesday 15 May 2019



Councillors S Campion, M Coney, S Davies, R Pollard, S Stanton and J Watson.

Councillor R Hudson (Retiring Vice-Chairperson) in the chair for minute nos. 3103/19 and 3104/19. She left the meeting after these items of business.

Also Present

Mr A Sharpe (Locum Clerk) and 5 members of the public.

3103/19           Election of Chair for the Civic Year 2019/20

RESOLVED that Councillor C Cuddington be elected Chair for the Civic Year 2019/20.

Councillor Cuddington would be invited to sign the declaration of acceptance of office form when he returned from holiday.

3104/19           Election of Joint Vice-Chairs for the Civic Year 2019/20

RESOLVED that Councillors S Davies and S Campion be elected as joint Vice-Chairs for the Civic Year 2019/20.

Councillor Davies then took the chair for the remainder of the meeting.

3105/19           Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were accepted from Councillors C Cuddington, J McDonald and C Nield.

3106/19           Variation of the Order of Business


3107/19           Declarations of Interest


3108/19           Public Speaking

a.Public Matters

A member of the public asked if Councillor Cuddington had indicated if he would accept the Chairs position.  The Clerk confirmed that he had.

b. Police Matters


c. District and County Councillor Council Member Reports


3109/19           Chairperson’s Report


3110/19           Election of Committees 2019/20

RESOLVED that the appointment of Committees for 2019/20 and the approval of the terms of reference be deferred to the next meeting.

3111/19           Election of Representatives to Outside Bodies

RESOLVED that the appointment of outside body representatives for 2019/20 be deferred to the next meeting.

3112/19           Dove Valley Life Magazine Article

RESOLVED to retrospectively approve the publication in the Dove Valley Life Magazine for the reasons now reported.

3113/19           Bank Signatories 


  • Councillors Mark Coney and Russell Pollard be appointed as the Council’s bank signatories for the Santander Bank for both cheques and internet banking.
  • The previous signatories (who are no longer Members or employees of the Council and are not contactable) Clare Orme, Stephen Cooper and Rosaleen Darlington be removed as signatories for the account.

3114/19           Invoice for Locum Clerk Work

Council were asked to approve the payment of an invoice from the Locum Clerk dated 5 May 2019 and amounting to £177.85.

RESOLVED that the invoice be approved for payment.

3115/19           Date of Next Meeting

It was NOTED that the next meeting of the Parish Council would be the Monthly Meeting, which would be held at Hilton Village Hall on Wednesday 29 May 2019. This would be preceded by the Annual Parish Meeting.

Comments are closed.